Select Page

Integrated Frameworks

How Does It Work?

The AASL Standards framework is anchored by six Shared Foundations—Inquire, Include, Collaborate, Curate, Explore, and Engage—which highlight the standards’ core educational concepts. A one-sentence Key Commitment describes the essential understandings for each of the six Shared Foundations.

Each Shared Foundation is elaborated by three to five Competencies for each learning category or Domain: Think (cognitive), Create (psychomotor), Share (affective), and Grow (developmental). The Competencies are measurable statements describing the knowledge, skills, and dispositions essential for learners and school librarians. For school libraries the Competencies are expressed as Alignments.

The figure to the left illustrates the arrangement of these components in the AASL Standards Integrated Framework featured in the National School Library Standards. Shared Foundations, Key Commitments, and Domains appear across all three standards sets for learners, school librarians, and school libraries. The parallel structure helps articulate how student learning relates to school librarian practice and to the overall school library environment.

Each Shared Foundation is most effectively executed when viewed across all three standards sets.

Integrated Frameworks

The AASL Standards contain individual frameworks for learners, school librarians, and school libraries; these individual frameworks provide an overview of the standards’ content. The core components are then presented in integrated frameworks for each of the Shared Foundations. These integrated frameworks underscore the interdependence of the three standards sets. No standards set or Shared Foundation can be effectively executed independent of the other two sets.

Click a Shared Foundation below to begin exploring the interconnected learner, school librarian, and school library competencies. In the Application section of this web portal, you’ll be provided with resources to build competencies. 

AASL Standards Framework for Learners pamphlet

The AASL Standards Framework for Learners pamphlet is the ideal collaborative and advocacy piece to introduce your stakeholders to this student-focused segment at the heart of AASL’s standards. In addition to the framework for learners, this convenient pamphlet includes Common Beliefs reflecting current learning environments and professional best practices that form the foundation of the standards.

Free Download | Purchase a Pack of 10

AASL Standards Frameworks Poster

One side of this poster organizes the AASL Standards Frameworks by Shared Foundation and the other side organizes by learner, school Librarian, and School Library.

$24 ­ |  ALA Members: $21.60


225 N. Michigan Ave, Suite 1300
Chicago, IL 60601

AASL empowers leaders to transform teaching and learning.

© 2020 American Library Association